Planning and Zoning
854 Highway 90 Suite A
Bay St. Louis, MS 39520
(228) 467-4157
Fax (228) 466-4744

Anthony Cuevas
Director of Planning & Zoning
Building Official/Inspector

Kerry Fraleigh
Zoning Officer

Tracy O’Neal
Permit and Zoning Office Manager

Geri Bouchie
Permit Clerk

Building Department

When constructing or renovating a building or an addition, this should be your first stop. All building permits, including heating, plumbing, electrical, and mobile homes are issued through this office for both commercial and residential projects.  Hancock County currently follows the 2018 edition of the International Building/Residential Codes.


​​Hancock County Permit Fee Schedule

Permit Application for Residential-Commercial

Permit Application for Sub Contractors

Residential Construction Check List

Mobile Home Check List

Hancock County Storm Water Management


Hancock County Participates In The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP)  

Flood Damage Prevention Ordinance

V Zone Building Design & Performance Certificate

The Map Service Center is the official government distribution center for digital flood hazard mapping products created by FEMA in support of the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). Here you can view all current flood maps (Flood Insurance Rate Maps) effective for the entire U.S. and its Territories. For more information, visit


Zoning Department

Our Zoning Department helps in the regulation of buildings and its suitability for particular uses and with the intentions of conserving the values of buildings and encouraging use of land throughout the county.


Hancock County Zoning Ordinance

Hancock County Subdivision Regulations

Recreational Vehicle Park Ordinance

The Zoning Department forwards all applications related to the Zoning Ordinance to the Planning Commission. The Hancock County Planning & Zoning Commission meets every 1st and 3rd Thursday at 5:00 p.m. in the Board of Supervisors Meeting Room. In order to be placed on the agenda, the applicant must return application and fee to the Building & Zoning Dept. the Friday prior to the meeting.


Planning & Zoning Application

Site Plan Packet



Planning Commission Board Members:

Ray Ladner

Bryan Kellar

Paul Koenig

Mike Favre